“what they don’t tell you about moving away to college”

I was scrolling through Facebook the other day and found this article by the Odyssey about what people don’t tell you about moving away to college. And you know what? I couldn’t disagree with it more.

Yes, I agree that moving away is one of the best things that has happened to me and that I’ve grown more as a person in the last 3 months than I did in grade 12. I absolutely love university and all the friends I’ve made in residence and my classes. It’s the best experience I’ve had in my entire life actually.

BUT the article is based around being homesick and crying yourself to sleep and begging your mum to come get you. Why is being homesick what makes university better for this poor person?

Yeah, I kinda miss being at home but I was also so ready to start my own life. Maybe missing home so much you cry yourself to sleep that you become your own person is a good thing..?  But scaring someone who knows that they’re ready for this into thinking they’re going to feel horrific for the first month and a half is just mean! Also, none of my friends went through this, I haven’t even seen anyone going through this.

Kudos to you if you can get through a month and a half of being miserable and continue to do well in school. Just know that this doesn’t happen to everyone – it’s okay if it does yet it’s also okay if it doesn’t. It’s totally normal to not miss your family that much when you move away for school; you’re not cold, you don’t hate your family, and you’re going to grow just as much as those other people – maybe even more.

Having your own first semester away experience is very normal so whatever you do, try to enjoy it!

 

Natasha

Leave a Reply

